Murray River and Snowy Mountains view, Towong, Upper Murray

Showcasing 'The Man From Snowy River' Country

 
<< Previous    [1]  2    Next >>

upper murray towns
Tooma
...indigenous for
'
 large gum tree'

In November the grass trees are in full bloom on Bald Hill, one kilometre north of Tooma along the Tooma Road.

Once short-listed, in 1904, as a possible site for the location of Australia's capital city, Tooma and its picturesque surrounding valleys offer sweeping views of the Snowy Mountains and its foothills. Rural life around Tooma is centred around sheep, beef and dairy farming as well as broad scale grass seed and hay production.Tooma Hotel has been open for business since the 1870s.

The Tooma Hotel is the only shop front business operating in the village, although a small postal agency still operates from a private home.

Tooma Services Memorial Hall was built on six acres of recreation reserve provided when Tooma Station soldier settlement blocks were surveyed in 1948. Financed by community fundraising and built by Jack Cairns, Benny Burgemaster and local volunteers, the Tooma Hall was officially opened on September 4th,1953. It has been the main venue for local community events since then. The hall converts into a mini gymnasium twice a week, when the Tooma Boot Camp operates.

The Tooma Recreation Reserve, beside the Hall, provides good facilities for various sporting codes. The Reserve is the home of the Tooma Tennis Club, which has, in recently  acquired brand new tennis courts.  It is also the home of the Tooma Cricket Club. Since the 1870s, men from the Tooma area have been known to play organised cricket. The tradition remains alive as the district fields both and junior and senior team in the Tumbarumba and District Cricket Association summer competition.

The biggest annual event held in Tooma is the Easter Gymkhana at the Tooma Community Recreation Reserve. Keeping with the traditions of skilled horsemanship, the small community works hard to provide a entertaining and rewarding experience to all who participate in events. 

Tooma has two churches, the Catholic Church of Our Lady of Perpetual Succour, built in 1936 on land donated by Harry Watson and St. John's Presbyterian Church, officially opened in 1962. Both churches hold monthly services.

   Nearby points of interest

Southern Cloud Memorial Scenic Lookout, Tooma Road, 3km
Scenic views of Maragle Valley and State Forest, picnic tables, barbeque, information boards about the Southern Cloud air crash and mystery
Paddy's River Falls, Tooma Road, 20km
Spectacular waterfall, fishing, picnic tables, barbeques, toilets

Read on to learn more about the early days of Tooma

<< Previous    [1]  2    Next >>